Preptober Diaries: Planning for NaNoWriMo 2022

Lucinda Elizabeth
2 min readOct 1, 2022

--

Photo by Alexa Williams on Unsplash

November is just around the corner, and with it comes NaNoWriMo. This is the first year I will be attempting the annual challenge, and I am so excited to get started.

But running a business and attempting a huge challenge such as NaNoWriMo will be a struggle. So, to keep me motivated and hold myself accountable, I will use Medium to track my progress across October and November.

What is NaNoWriMo?

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) was founded in 1999 as a challenge for writers and authors across the world: to write a 50,000-word novel in November (30 days). Since then, it has developed into a non-profit organisation with a vast community.

Every year, the challenge is the same, and every year up until now I have put off attempting it.

What will I write?

For several years I have worked on a novel (the first in a series) on and off. Until recently, however, it was never a priority for me; first GCSEs were a priority, then A-levels, then my degree, then teacher training, and now my business. It meant that my poor novel kept taking a backseat while I prioritised other things.

But the idea stuck and I promised myself that I would finish it. NaNoWriMo is the perfect opportunity for me. By the end of it, at least 50,000 words of it will be written as another draft.

My NaNoWriMo journey starts here…

NaNoWriMo doesn’t start and end in November. Every writer needs time to plan for this challenge, and October is the perfect month to do just that (hence why many writers call it “Preptober”).

I have a lot on my plate as it is. I’m running a business that is currently going through a metamorphosis, so finding time to sit down and write every day in November is going to be a big challenge for me. That’s why I decided to use Medium to hold myself accountable.

I will be documenting my progress every week throughout October and November as a means to not only keep track of my goals but also to motivate myself.

I’m so excited to see where this takes me and how well I will stick to my new goals. Let’s hope I can keep up the momentum!

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Will you take part in NaNoWriMo this year? If you plan to, I’d love to know more about your plans for Preptober!

--

--

Lucinda Elizabeth

Lucinda is a ghostwriter and editor, writing and editing content for businesses in their brand voice.